Franchisors must complete and file an annual Franchise Exemption, with the Florida Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services and pay a $100 filing fee before offering or selling a franchise that is located within Florida or is being sold to a resident of Florida. Many franchisors seek assistance from a competent and experienced franchise attorney to ensure they comply with Florida franchise law and filing requirements.
Florida’s exemption applies to anyone offering a “franchise” within the state as long as the franchise is in compliance with the Federal Trade Commission orders or actions relating to franchises.
When submitting a Florida Franchise Exemption, franchisors must complete the required Franchise Exemption form and send it with the required $100 filing fee to:
PO Box 6700
Tallahassee, FL 32399
The answer is yes. Franchisors are required to file a new Franchise Exemption every year and pay a $100 filing fee. Florida does allow for electronic renewals; however, franchisors will need to upload a new, physically signed, Franchise Exemption in order to renew.
To confirm whether a franchisor has a valid Franchise Exemption in Florida, or to check a renewal deadline, click here to search Florida’s license search portal.
To ensure that filing requirements are accurately met and to avoid any costly mistakes, franchisors view it extremely helpful to work with an experienced franchise lawyer familiar with Florida franchise filing requirements. Give us a call today to start franchising your business.