Franchisors must complete and file an annual Business Opportunity Exemption, with the Utah Department of Commerce’s Division of Consumer Protection and pay a $100 filing fee. To avoid potentially costly mistakes, many franchisors seek assistance from an experienced franchise lawyer to ensure they comply with Utah franchise law and filing requirements.
Utah allows for an exemption under the Utah Business Opportunity Disclosure Act if a franchisor is in compliance with the Federal Trade Commission orders or actions relating to franchises.
Utah permits franchisors to file Business Opportunity Exemptions through its website here. Franchisors, or their counsel, will need to create a user login and password. Once created, franchisors will use this login each year to renew their Business Opportunity Exemption with the Utah Department of Commerce’s Division of Consumer Protection.
Yes, it is required in Utah for franchisors to file a new Business Opportunity Exemption every year and pay a $100 filing fee.
Franchisors nationwide find it extremely valuable to work with an experienced franchise lawyer to make certain that filing requirements are properly met. At Franchise.Law, our attorneys are well versed in Utah franchise filing requirements. Give us a call today to start franchising your business.